NETS-T Standard 5 Response

31 Jul

5. Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

Teachers continuously improve their professional practice, model lifelong learning, and exhibit leadership in their school and professional community by promoting and demonstrating the effective use of digital tools and resources. Teachers:

a. participate in local and global learning communities to explore creative applications of technology to improve student learning.
b. exhibit leadership by demonstrating a vision of technology infusion, participating in shared decision making and community building, and developing the leadership and technology skills of others.
c. evaluate and reflect on current research and professional practice on a regular basis to make effective use of existing and emerging digital tools and resources in support of student learning.
d. contribute to the effectiveness, vitality, and self-renewal of the teaching profession and of their school and community.

Summary:

Standard five places an emphasis on professional growth and leadership for the teacher to model.  Teachers are to be examples of lifelong learning especially in the area of technology.  Teachers should  communicate with others in the profession and build relationships globally using technology.  Teachers should also exhibit leadership skills by infusing technology into their classrooms, participate in social collaboration, as well as learning from the technology skills of others in the profession.  Teachers are called to evaluate and reflect on current research.  Finally, teachers should contribute and be an asset to their school and community.

 My strengths in this area:

I am a lifelong learner because I am currently enrolled in graduate school to obtain my master’s degree.  This class in particular is strengthening my each week.  I take professional development classes and am also on the lookout for new ideas in my profession.  I collaborate with my colleagues.  It is very important for my students to see me modeling this. 

 My weaknesses in this area:

I do not communicate globally with other teachers as much as I would like to.  I think the starting of my blog is going to help me  accomplish more social networking on a professional level.  I am thrilled to begin a collaboration with other professional in Google docs.  My class this coming year will begin a friendship via Twitter with a school in another country.

Leave a Reply

