Teaching and Nobility

24 Jul

The article entitled I’m not Messing Up-I’m Learning, was written by Vicki Davis.  It can be found at her blog: http://coolcatteacher.blogspot.com/2011/01/hey-im-not-messing-up-im-learning.html.

Summary:

In this article, the author writes about famous leaders and events throughout history who discovered or learned something through their mistakes.  She encourages the reader to be willing to fall into mistakes but only if something is learned from the process.  The author compares today’s hard-working and often under-appreciated teacher to nobility.  Teachers have a tremendous responsibility and a noble calling; to educate young minds.  However, many teachers lose this “noble heart” in the process of the day-to-day grind, school politics, and in dealing with difficult students.  Teachers are encouraged by the author to do something every day to make a difference and not lose heart.

 New/Interesting concept:

I loved the idea of teachers being compared to nobility.  Our job is a noble calling.  The ability to teach and instruct is of high importance.  I am thankful for the reminded the author gave about learning from mistakes.  My students make mistakes every day and I certainly have my fair share of mistakes as well.  I want to be more conscious of learning from these downfalls and encouraging my students to learn from their mistakes as well. 

 My Response:

This article was exactly what I needed to read as the new school year quickly approaches.  I do get “weary in well doing” and often find myself complaining and whining over my noble occupation.  I am encouraged and motivated to learn from my mistakes and to teach my students to do the same.  This article made me think of my profession in a new light-it is noble. 

Leave a Reply

