Response to NETS-T Standard 3

17 Jul

 NETS-T Standard 3: Model Digital-Age Work and Learning

Teachers exhibit knowledge, skills, and work processes representative of an innovative professional in a global and digital society.

Teachers

a. demonstrate fluency in technology systems and the transfer of current knowledge to new technologies and situations.
b. collaborate with students, peers, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation.
c. communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats.
d. model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging: digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning.

 Summary:

This standard requires teachers to be comfortable and fluent when using different technology systems.  They should be able to use their current technology skills to enable them to acquire newer and more updated technology proficiencies in the future.  The teacher should have the ability to collaborate with their students, student’s parents, colleagues, and members in the community using digital tools as well as a variety of  other digital and media formats.  Communication should be relevant information with ideas that help students, parents, and peers.  This communication should use a variety of digital media and formats.  Finally, the teacher should model and facilitate the newest digital tools when analyzing, evaluating, and using informational resources to support research and learning. 

 My strengths in this area:

I use my current knowledge of technology to build on as I learn new forms of technology.  For example, my ability to use a digital camera helped me when I installed my own Webcam in the classroom.  My previous knowledge of using a Promethean Board enabled me to begin experimenting with creating my own flipcharts.  My students got excited when I brought new technology into the classroom and enjoyed watching me model how to use it.  I also communicate with parents, peers, and colleagues through the use of email and my Greenville County School website.  During our animal research unit, I enjoyed introducing and modeling to my students all of the research tools that are online for their individual projects.

 My weaknesses in this area:

I am still uncomfortable with many forms of technology that are available simply because I have not been introduced to them myself.  I would love to build upon what I already know with more advanced tools such as Prezis, interactive flipcharts, and virtual tours.  That is why I am excited to be in this class!  I am also weak in the area of multiple means of communication.  Although I use email constantly during the day to communicate, I really haven’t used anything else.  I’m looking forward to implementing Google Docs this school year!

Leave a Reply

