Response to NETS-T Standard 1

11 Jul

NETS-T Standard 1

Standard:

1. Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity

Teachers use their knowledge of subject matter, teaching and learning, and technology to facilitate experiences that advance student learning, creativity, and innovation in both face-to-face and virtual environments.

 Teachers:

a. promote, support, and model creative and innovative thinking and inventiveness

b. engage students in exploring real-world issues and solving authentic problems using digital tools and resources

c. promote student reflection using collaborative tools to reveal and clarify students’ conceptual understanding and thinking, planning, and creative processes

d. model collaborative knowledge construction by engaging in learning with students, colleagues, and others in face-to-face and virtual environments

 Summary:

Taking the time to read and really think about what this first NETS-T standard means was an eye opening experience for me.  It is the teacher’s responsibility to encourage students to think outside the box and to creatively express what they are learning through various forms of technology.  Teachers should use various forms of media to help students explore current events as well as to enable them to solve real-world problems.  It is the teacher’s responsibility to allow their students use technology to reflect on learning, publish projects, and share what they learned.  Teachers should use technology to gain immediate assessment of their students learning.  The teacher is also to be a role model to the class in the area of communication and collaboration with others.  This communication can be face to face or virtually. 

 My strengths in this area:

My main strength is that I do have a desire to learn more about technology and I am very aware of its importance in education.  I feel fairly comfortable with using my Promethean Board and flipcharts.  The use of flipcharts during instructional time has really enhanced my lessons and student learning.  I also encourage my students to think outside the box and have introduced them to PowerPoint to publish their writing projects.  My students use the Graphing Club software to create various graphs, and they are excellent internet researchers.  My students have benefitted from virtual tours, as well as other academic websites that have activities.  I use United Streaming videos during my lessons as well to further convey a concept.  I invited a technology professional from Furman University to bring in his video microscope during a science unit for the class to explore.  We also use our Flip camera and WebCam to record book reports, educational skits, and dramatic projects.

 My weaknesses in this area:

Now that I have spent some time reflecting on this standard, I feel more of aware of the weaknesses I have in this area. I do not have a strong technology-rich classroom.  I think that my students are inhibited because I am not pro viding them with creative means to publish their writing, connect with others, and explore learning through more technologically advanced media.  My students do not communicate with those outside the classroom.  This is my fault because I have not taught them how to blog since I myself am not comfortable with blogging.  I am embarrassed by the simplicity of my Greenville county school website.  It is not an accurate reflection of me as a teacher because it is boring and not a good method of communication.  I am also week in the area of using technology to immediately assess student learning.   I know I have much to learn, but I am excited for the challenge!

Leave a Reply

